Calhoun County Journal logo

All-State Girls – Calhoun County gets two first-teamers and a Coach of the Year on the Girls All-State Basketball Team announced Sunday

All-state Girls

Calhoun County gets two first-teamers and a Coach of the Year on the Girls All-State Basketball Team announced Sunday

Xai Whitfield is a player Oxford girls basketball coach Melissa Bennett called one of the best in the state when she gets going and the sophomore was recognized as such Sunday as one of two Calhoun County players to earn first-team honors on the Girls All-State Team.

Whitfield made the Class 5A first team. Ohatchee’s dominant junior Jorda Crook was a Class 3A first-team pick.

Bennett, who led Oxford on a historic run to the Class 6A finals, was named Class 6A Coach of the Year.

Here are the all-state first teams and all the East Alabama Sports Today area players who received all-state recognition.

First Team
Syriah Daniels, Auburn, So., G, 6-1
Aniya Hubbard, Hoover, Sr., G, 5-9
Reniya Kelly, Hoover, Jr., G, 5-7
Kelsey Thompson, Davidson, Sr., F, 5-11
Emma Smith, Vestavia Hills, Sr., G, 5-8

Coach of the Year: John David Smelser, Vestavia Hills

First Team
Alexis Andrews, Park Crossing, Sr., G, 5-8
Bellah Machen, Mortimer Jordan, Sr., G, 5-8
Masyn Marchbanks, Hartselle, Sr., G, 5-8
Samiya Steele, Hazel Green, Sr., G, 5-8
XaiOnna Whitfield, Oxford, So., G, 5-8

Second Team
KaLeah Taylor, Oxford, Sr., G, 5-4

Coach of the Year: Melissa Bennett, Oxford

First Team
Limaya Batimba, Lee-Huntsville, So., F, 5-8
Shaniah Nunn, Fairfield, Sr., F, 6-0
Dorsey Parker, UMS-Wright, Sr., C, 6-2
Je’Nyiah Silas, Lee-Huntsville, Sr., G-F, 5-9
Olivia Vandergriff, Guntersville, Jr., G, 5-8

Second Team
Ashley Phillips, Alexandria, Sr., G, 5-7

Third Team
Trinity Webb, Talladega, So., G-F, 5-8

Coach of the Year: Kenny Hill, Guntersville

First Team
Naomi Jones, Jackson, Jr., C, 6-3
Ivey Maddox, Good Hope, So., F, 5-10
Chloe Siegel, Deshler, Jr., G, 5-7
Emma Kate Tittle, Deshler, Sr., G, 5-8
Chardai Watkins, Sumter Central, Sr., G, 5-8

Second Team
Brooklyn McDaniel, Cleburne Co., Sr., F, 6-0

Third Team
Mary Hayes Johnson, Cherokee Co., So., G, 5-5
Teanna Watts, Handley, Sr., G, 5-6

Coach of the Year: Katie Barton, St. James

First Team
Ella Jane Connell, Prattville Christian, Sr., G, 5-9
Jorda Crook, Ohatchee, Jr., F-G, 5-11
Hannah Jones, Prattville Christian, Jr., C, 6-2
Cali Smallwood, Susan Moore, Jr., G, 5-8
Emma Kate Smith, Trinity, Jr., G, 5-8

Honorable mention
LeLe Ridley, Piedmont, Jr., F, 5-10

Coach of the Year: Natasha Smallwood, Susan Moore

First Team
Ace Austin, Spring Garden, Fr., G, 5-6
Iamunique Bowie, St. Luke’s, Sr., G, 5-8
Tymiah Burroughs, Washington County, So., G, 5-8
Molly Heard, Pisgah, Sr., F, 6-0
Kallie Tinker, Pisgah, Jr., G, 5-3

Second Team
Neely Welsh, Spring Garden, Sr., F, 5-11

Honorable mention
Briley Merrill, Ranburne, Jr., G, 5-11

Coach of the Year: Mike Collins, Sulligent

First Team
Erin Culp, Marion County, Sr., C, 5-10
Amonei Cunningham, McIntosh, Sr., G, 5-8
Faith Johnson, Talladega County Central, Sr., G, 5-8
Gracie Rowell, Skyline, So., G, 5-6
Timya Thurman, Linden, Jr., C-F, 6-4

Honorable mention
Kara Grace, Jacksonville Christian, Jr., F, 5-8

Coach of the Year: Scott Veal, Marion County

First Team
Lindsey Brown, Edgewood, So., G, 5-7
Alex Brownlee, Tuscaloosa Academy, Jr., G, 5-9
Jasmyn Burts, Glenwood, Sr., G, 5-5
Grace Davis, Clarke Prep, Jr., G-F, 5-11
Avery Royal, Fort Dale Academy, Sr., F, 6-1

Coach of the Year: Regina Parker, Fort Dale Academy [*** read more]

**When you click read more you will be taken to the EA Sports Today website.  Please make sure to come back to read more Calhoun County News. 

Paid Advertisement – Click for More Information

JLM Communications Ad

Paid Advertisement – Click for More Information

A Better Body Chiropractic

Paid Advertisement – Click for More Information

The Moon Jacksonville advertisement

Paid Advertisement – Click for More Information

McClellan Inn Ad